Ainu Apukita

Ainu Apukita

The Ainu Apukita was invented by Daniel Martinez as an alternative to write the Ainu language. It is an abugida based on the Latin alphabet and partly inspired by Fraser alphabet. It also has elements of Cyrillic, some Asian abugidas and a little Japanese (in its letter styles). The name “apukita” is a distortion of the word “abugida”.

Perhaps I shouldn’t post this, because, as the saying goes “if you can’t say anything nice…” However, I find it hard to resist. This is absolutely horrible. Aesthetically it looks like a child drew it on a tablet art app and it resembles the Latin script far too much. Functionally, it works in the most basic of ways and barely comes close to being anything but a cypher.

I very much recognize that there is a modicum of potential here, but the presentation of this script leaves me sad and I wonder what ever possessed Simon to post it.

